Forms of Potency In Ritual | Forum

sonofject Member
sonofject Oct 9 '15
For any form of magic to be successful (or convincing enough) in producing a desired result or effect, there must be a quality of potency in the ritual.

I'm a musician, so one example of potency would be music. Creative musicians will often channel their energy to express strong emotions through song, dance, playing an instrument, etc. You can't deny that the ability to create music in any form is a powerful expression of self. My decompression chamber is live music, my altar is the stage. It's one of many aspects of my primal design.

Sex energy is another example. Sexual energy is a powerful harnessed tool in any potent ritual. Breaking taboo boundaries and transgressing thresholds of emotion are all rudimentary and speak to one's primal nature and carnal knowledge and experience.

Forms of art and language are also examples used in ritual. To the adept, a powerful intuitive knowledge (one's imagination, if you will) can enrich the experience of reading and comprehending ritual practice and traditional archetypes.

What are some other forms of potency used in successful ritual practice? What kind of result was produced in your experience?

(protip: there's no right or wrong answer, the questions are subjective).

Share:
Padowan
Padowan Oct 9 '15
My understanding of potency is effectiveness and active strength. I don't have different forms of potency as much as I may have different intensities. One ritual form I find beneficial is physical exertion, either through physical labor or intense exercise to fatigue. Mind over body in the strictest sense. Pushing past limits. Intense focus. Absolute will over complacent weakness. Self control against pain, resistance and stagnation. Results are strength of body and strength of mind.
Shawn
Shawn Oct 9 '15
@sonofject: the issue isn't 'potency', it's arousal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arousal

sonofject Member
sonofject Oct 10 '15
@Padowan